Queensland Library Achiever of the Year Award

The Queensland Library Achiever of the Year Award is maintained by the ALIA Queensland group.

The Queensland Library Achiever of the Year Award is an annual merit prize aimed at:

  • Encouraging recognition of an individual working in any sector of the library and information profession in Queensland
  • Providing an opportunity to promote innovation and excellence within the library and information profession
  • Increasing the profile of the profession

The Queensland Library Achiever of the Year Award was originally an initiative of the Queensland Library Promotion Council Inc. It was then administered by ALIA Quorum, a group which aimed to support and promote the interests of library and information professionals in Queensland.

The first Award was presented in 1995 and we celebrated the 25th anniversary of the award in 2020. 

2023 Sponsor

In 2023 the Library Achiever Award is proudly sponsored by TAFE Queensland.

Who is Eligible?
  • Any individual working in a library or information centre in Queensland, and who is a financial member of ALIA is eligible for nomination.

Nominations can be made:

  • By yourself, ie self nomination
  • By the manager of your library or information centre or of the parent body, or
  • By one of your peers or a professional colleague.
What are we looking for?

The successful nomination will be judged on one or more of the following criteria:

  • Innovative practice in the development of library and information services.
  • Progress achieved in the implementation of new services or new technologies.
  • Successful collaborative ventures or partnerships in library and information services.
  • Creative approaches to marketing or promoting library and information services.
  • Demonstrated dedication to the advancement of libraries.

Please note that nominations do not need to address all criteria.

What are the conditions of entry?

1. Nominations are sought from all sectors of the library and information profession in Queensland.

2. Nominations must be submitted on the nomination form provided below and should:

  • Clearly indicate the selection criterion/criteria being addressed
  • Describe the activities undertaken to meet the given criterion/criteria
  • Provide a statement of support from the nominator(s)
  • A portfolio to demonstrate evidence of the accomplishments may accompany the submission, but is not mandatory.
3. The selection panel will comprise:
  • A representative nominated by our sponsors
  • One member of ALIA, invited by the ALIA Qld Committee.

4. The decisions made by the selection panel are final and no correspondence will be entered into.

5. ALIA reserves the right to withhold an award should the selection panel advise that no nominees have met the given criteria.

How do I submit a nomination?

Nominations for the next QLD Library Achiever will open in mid-2024 
Download nomination form 

Previous winners

  • 2023
    Nicole Hunt
  • 2022
    Daniel McDonald
  • 2021
    Lisa Bateman
  • 2020
    Stephen Harris
  • 2019
    Carmel O'Sullivan
  • 2018
    Sam Searle
  • 2017
    Nicola McGeown
  • 2016
    Clare Thorpe
  • 2015
    Kay Oddone
  • 2014
    Dana Lutat
  • 2012
    Helen Partridge
  • 2011
    Anna Raunik
  • 2010
    Jacqueline Walch
  • 2009
    Helen Cooke
  • 2008
    Denise Cadman
  • 2007
    Suzie Davies
  • 2006
    Warren Cheetham
  • 2005
    Bronia Renison
  • 2004
    Belinda Weaver
  • 2003
    Jane Cowell
  • 2002
    No awards
  • 2001
    No awards
  • 2000
    Beth Mayo
  • 1999
    Diane Vance
  • 1998
    Margaret Blain
  • 1997
    Alison Kemp
  • 1996
    Colleen Cleary
  • 1995
    Mary Anne Elizabeth Secker