INCITE in conversation: Acknowledging, valuing and making space for diversity in LIS education

Primary tabs

In this 30-minute session, we will be joined by Kirsten Thorpe and Kathryn Greenhill to discuss embedding diverse perspectives when delivering LIS education. Kirsten is a leading researcher and advocate for Indigenous engagement. She was invited by Kathryn to guest lecture about whatever she believed was important for information management students to know, as part of the re-design of a foundational course for postgraduate students at the University of South Australia.

This discussion will expand on Kathryn’s article in the workforce diversity supplement to the July/August issue of INCITE, where she outlines the importance of embedding diverse perspectives when planning coursework in LIS education, in particular work she has done redesigning courses at the University of South Australia to make space for Indigenous voices, foreground missing voices and acknowledge diversity as strength.

This is a free event but you need to pre-register to receive the Zoom link to the event.

Please also note that the time listed is 1:00pm AEST (ACT/NSW/QLD/VIC/TAS). The starting times in other Australian regions are 11:00am AWST (WA) and 12:30pm ACST (NT/SA).

Region
Category
ALIA Event
Date(s)
Thursday 08 July 2021 1:00pm to 1:30pm
Contact details
incite@alia.org.au