Australian Library Design Awards and Conference 2019




There are four categories – public libraries, academic libraries, school libraries and special libraries. There will also be an ALIA Members’ Choice award, voted for by ALIA Members. Entries can be for new buildings, refurbishments or major renovations. Each entry will be judged against the same set of criteria and there will be the option for the judging panel to make special awards where there are several outstanding entries in one category. Any library in Australia, recently built, renovated or refurbished (work completed between 1 July 2016 and 30 June 2018) can be entered for the awards. This includes fixed locations but not pop up, temporary or mobile libraries. Nominations will come from libraries and their organisations, with support from the architect and/or other design professionals.

Key dates

Online nominations open on 2 July and close on 30 September, 2018. The shortlist will be announced in December 2018. On 14 March, 2019, there will be a one-day conference at the State Library of Queensland featuring the shortlisted projects, with a presentation of the awards at an evening reception to follow. The event is part of the Asia Pacific Architecture Forum. In addition to the publicity and kudos of the award, the winners will receive handcrafted trophies.

How to enter

1. Create an account using the Register button above. When you have an account, use the Log In button to start your online entry. (If you are already logged in, you will only see an Enter button.)
2. Complete our online entry form.  All submissions must be in electronic format. You will be able to upload images, high level floor plans and architectural drawings, each file under 20MB (jpeg or pdf format preferred).
3. Make your payment of the non-refundable entry fee of $380 + GST (ALIA members) and $530 + GST (non-ALIA members).
Download a pdf of the awards information here.


The Australian Library Design Awards have been created to showcase the best in contemporary library interiors and exteriors in Australia, and to celebrate the investment in libraries made by our nation's institutions, corporations, local, state and territory governments.

They have been developed in the context of other competitions internationally, including the American Institute of Architects/American Library Association Library Building Awards and the Danish Agency for Culture Model Programme for Public Libraries Public Library of the Year Award

The entries, shortlisted and winning designs provide case studies in excellent library design for the 21st Century. 


The awards are organised by the Australian Library and Information Association in partnership with the Australian Public Library Alliance and Council of Australian University Librarians. 

The awards are kindly supported by, Raeco and State Library of Queensland.




previous winners

More than 30 stunning libraries were entered for the inaugural Australian Library Design Awards 2017. Public, school, academic and special libraries all featured in the entries, and there was a special award for the library voted for by ALIA Members. The winners were announced on 19 June 2017, at Library at the Dock, Melbourne. They were:

  • St Joseph’s Nudgee College, Hanly Learning Centre, Queensland (school)

  • City of Perth Library (public)

  • John Philips Library, Western Sydney University (academic)

  • Arup, Sydney (special)

  • Geelong Library and Heritage Centre, Victoria (ALIA Members' Choice).

Take a look at the gallery of all 33 nominations for the awards.   


The judging panel comprises independent design professionals and senior library leaders. More information here.

  • Janine Schmidt, IFLA Library Buildings and Equipment Standing Committee (Chair)
  • Marisa Dellaca, Asia Pacific Library & Head of Research & Business Intelligence, Ashurst
  • Philip Follent, Life Fellow of the Royal Australian Institute of Architects
  • Anne Girolami, Chair, ALIA Schools
  • Kate Kelly, Director of Library Services, Southern Cross University
  • Anne Kovachevich, Australasian Leader, Arup Foresight + Innovation team
  • Karen Latimer, Chair, UK Designing Libraries Advisory Board
  • Kylie Legge, Director, Place Partner
  • Marian Morgan-Bindon, City Librarian, City of Gold Coast

Entries will be assessed on how well the designs meet their objectives and specifically on the basis of the following three criteria:

  • Design: including interior, exterior appearance, visual impact, flexibility, innovation, and integration into the local environment.
  • Strategic relevance: including approach to achieving the objectives, response to special considerations or challenges, sustainability and value for money.
  • Impact: including user experience, efficiency, functionality, delivery of services, meeting community needs and accessibility.

More information

For more information please contact