Governance and structure

ALIA Board

Seven Members are elected to serve on the ALIA Board.  ALIA Board elections take place every year and there are regular ALIA Board meetings.


There are several Sub-Committees of the Board and the Board appoints Advisory Committees to provide input into its strategic discussions.

The Sub-Committees are:

  • Finance and Risk Management (FARM), chaired by Marian Morgan-Bindon
  • Join the Dots, chaired by Monika Szunejko
  • Membership and Awards (MASC), chaired by Lyndall Osborne
  • PD Education Research and Publishing (PDERP), chaired by Monika Szunejko
  • Workplace Policies and Guidelines Review, chaired by Jane Cowell

The Advisory Committees are:

  • Australian Public Library Alliance
  • Book Industry and eLending Advisory Committee
  • Health Libraries Advisory Committee (HLA Group)
  • Interlibrary Lending Advisory Committee
  • International Relations Advisory Committee
  • National Library Technicians' Advisory Committee
  • New Generation Advisory Committee
  • Research Advisory Committee
  • School Libraries Advisory Committee (ALIA Schools Group)
  • Special Libraries and Information Services Advisory Committee
  • VET Libraries Advisory Committee

There is also the ALIA Research Fund Committee.

ALIA Board Committees and Advisory Committees in detail.

ALIA also has representatives on external committees and working groups, for example:


The ALIA Board governs the Association in accordance with our Constitution & By-laws. Each year there is an Annual General Meeting and we publish an Annual Report to inform Members about activities and financial performance.


ALIA has relationships with a number of other organisations, which are formalised with a Memorandum of Understanding.


There are 25 ALIA staff working at ALIA House and in each State and Territory. Click here for the ALIA organisational chart.