Winners of the 2021 Library Design Awards

The winners of the Australian Library Design Awards were announced at today’s Changing Spaces Library Design Conference 2021.

Janine Schmidt, judging panel chair said, ‘‘The award submissions showed an impressive array of innovative, creative and forward-thinking designs of new and refurbished libraries. Each of the winning, and commended, libraries represents some of the best architectural design in Australia. Each library prioritised user needs established through consultation, and created spaces which are inspiring, beautiful,  fit for purpose and loved by their communities'. 

The winners and commended entries are:

School Libraries
Winner: Ormiston College Centre for Learning & Innovation, QLD
Highly Commended: Monmia Primary School Library, VIC

Special Libraries
Highly Commended: Jerzy Toeplitz Library (Australian Film, Television and Radio School), NSW

Academic Libraries
Winner: UTS Library, NSW
Highly Commended: QUT Peter Coaldrake Education Precinct, QLD
Highly Commended: St Benedict’s Library, University of Notre Dame Australia, NSW

Public Libraries
Winner: Marrickville Library and Pavilion, NSW
Highly Commended: Green Square Library, NSW
Highly Commended: Karalee Library Pod, NSW
Highly Commended: Ruth Faulkner Library, WA
Commended: Payinthi – Prospect Public Library, SA
Commended: Salisbury Community Hub Library, SA
Commended: Wentworth Point Community Centre and Library, NSW

National Exemplar Award
Winner: State Library Victoria, VIC

Members’ Choice Award
Winner: Marrickville Library and Pavilion, NSW