Australian Library Design Awards and Conference 2017

The winners of the inaugural ALIA Australian Library Design Awards were announced on 19 June 2017, at Library at the Dock, Melbourne. They were:

  • St Joseph’s Nudgee College, Hanly Learning Centre, Queensland (school)

  • City of Perth Library (public)

  • John Philips Library, Western Sydney University (academic)

  • Arup, Sydney (special)

  • Geelong Library and Heritage Centre, Victoria (ALIA Members' Choice).

Highly commended libraries were:
School library
Potter Library, All Hallows’ School, Brisbane, QLD
The Information Resource Centre, Carey Baptist Grammar School, Kew, VIC 
The Learning Hub, St Andrew's Anglican College, Peregian Springs, QLD  
Junior School Library - Duncraig Campus, St Stephen's School, Duncraig, WA 
Research Learning Centre, Brisbane Girls Grammar School, Brisbane, QLD  
Public library 
Rockdale Library - Bayside Council, Rockdale, NSW  
Sunshine Library - Brimbank Libraries, Sunshine, VIC 
Mary Davies Library and Community Centre - City of Rockingham Library Service, Baldvis, WA  
Geelong Library & Heritage Centre, Geelong Regional Library Corporation, Geelong, VIC 
North Lakes Library, Moreton Bay Region Libraries, North Lakes, QLD  
Success Public Library, City of Cockburn, Success WA   
Woollahra Library Double Bay, NSW  
Academic library
Reid Library, University of Western Australia, Crawley, WA 
Barwon Health Library, Geelong, VIC

Entries for the second ALIA Australian Library Design Awards will open mid-2018, for presentation in 2019.


Take a look at the gallery of all 33 nominations for the awards.


Click here to view the 2017 ALIA Library Design Awards conference program and linked presentations.

About the awards

The Australian Library Design Awards have been created to showcase the best in contemporary library interiors and exteriors in Australia, and to celebrate the investment in libraries made by our nation's institutions, corporations, local, state and territory governments.

They have been developed in the context of other competitions internationally, including the American Institute of Architects/American Library Association Library Building Awards and the Danish Agency for Culture Model Programme for Public Libraries Public Library of the Year Award

The entries, shortlisted and winning designs provide case studies in excellent library design for the 21st Century. 

The awards are organised by the Australian Library and Information Association in partnership with the Australian Public Library Alliance and Council of Australian University Librarians. The organising committee includes senior library leaders from Queensland, New South Wales and Victoria, acting on behalf of colleagues nationally.

More than 30 stunning libraries were entered for the inaugural Australian Library Design Awards 2017. Public, school, academic and special libraries all featured in the entries, and there was a special award for the library voted for by ALIA Members.

The inaugural awards were kindly supported by, City of Melbourne and Raeco.




The judging panel comprised independent design professionals and senior library leaders. More information here.

  • Janine Schmidt, IFLA Library Buildings and Equipment Standing Committee (Chair)
  • Susan Ashcroft, University Librarian, Murdoch University
  • Marisa Dellaca, Asia Pacific Library & Research Manager, Ashurst
  • Philip Follent, Life Fellow of the Royal Australian Institute of Architects
  • Anne Girolami, Chair, ALIA Schools
  • Anne Kovachevich, Australasian Leader, Arup Foresight + Innovation team
  • Karen Latimer, Chair, UK Designing Libraries Advisory Board
  • Kylie Legge, Director, Place Partners
  • Christine Mackenzie, IFLA Governing Board

Entries were assessed on how well the designs met their objectives and specifically on the basis of the following three criteria:

  • Design: including interior, exterior appearance, visual impact, flexibility, innovation, and integration into the local environment.
  • Strategic relevance: including approach to achieving the objectives, response to special considerations or challenges, sustainability and value for money.
  • Impact: including user experience, efficiency, functionality, delivery of services, meeting community needs and accessibility.

Download a pdf copy of the 2017 entry form here.

More information

For more information please contact