WA Library Technicians Group (WALT) Symposium Grant

Award nomination type Self nominated

Closing date: To be announced in early 2023

The WALT Conference Grant is maintained by ALIA WA Library Technicians group.

The aim of the grant is to enable students and recent graduates of a library technician qualification course to experience the value of a National Library and Information Technicians' Symposium .

The Symposium is a prime source of professional development and networking opportunities for library technicians within Australia and overseas.

Eligibility - Who can enter?

The Grant is awarded biennially and entry is open to members and non-members of ALIA.
Applicants must be Library Technicians who recently graduated or current students of any ALIA recognised Library Technicians course of study.
Applicants MUST be residents of Western Australia.

What happens if I win?

The successful entrant will receive an offer of a grant to attend the ALIA National Library and Information Technicians Symposium.
The Grant includes Symposium Registration, Airfares and some funding towards accommodation.
Should the winning entrant be a current student they will also receive one year’s free student membership of the Australian Library and Information Association, compliments of ALIA.
It is expected that the winner will attend the ALIA WALT Group Symposium debrief and present a 10 minute report on their conference experience and finally become a member of the ALIA WALTG committee.

How do I enter?
  • Applicants must meet the entry requirement (see above).
  • Create a short (two minutes maximum) multimedia presentation focusing on the Symposium’s theme - Be creative! Post your presentation on YouTube and email the link and nomination form to [email protected].
WALT Conference Grant Past Recipients

2019 Gemma Henry Audio Visual Presentation

2017 Ngaire Clements Audio Visual Presentation

2013 Kathy May Audio Visual Presentation

2011 Sharyn English essay | conference report

2007 Vivienne Conway essay | conference report

2005 Felicity Seeber essay | conference report

2003 Michaela Shepherdson essay | conference report

2001 Mason Clark essay | conference report